Boring Stock Carbs?

General forum on engines, transmissions, gearing and modifications to each

Moderator: rztom

BigGuy
- - - - -
- - - - -

Boring Stock Carbs?

#1 Post by BigGuy » Sun Jul 24, 2016 1:30 am

Hey guys, I've been doing some digging on the topic of boring out the stock carbs. There doesn't seem to be a lot of conclusive info on here about this. I've gathered that they can be bored to 27.5mm max as per the slide diameter and the available stock in the carburetor throat. Some also mention that the slide seat must be deepened to allow the slide to shut off completely. my question is are any of you running this? Have any tried this? If so how were the results? I understand that simply upgrading to 28mm flat slides would be better but I can think of a few obvious advantages to modifying the stock ones too. First I already own a set in good working order, second I would not have to reinvent all the necessary cables and whatnot and lastly I'm a toolmaker by trade and have complete access to the required machines to do this at no cost to me. Offhand I'm thinking a wire EDM would be an ideal tool to open the throats. After that simply set up the carb bodies on a bridgeport, indicate the slide diameter and deepen the spotface? Obviously it sounds easy when you just say it (HaHa). I guess I'm just wondering what some of the talented builders on this great forum might have to say about this?

Thanks guys.
Shake "N" Bake!

WVWRZ500N
- - - - -
- - - - -

Re: Boring Stock Carbs?

#2 Post by WVWRZ500N » Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:57 am