Newbie with a troublesome RZV

General forum on troubleshooting electrical problems and modifications to electrical systems

Moderator: rztom

spazbecker

Newbie with a troublesome RZV

#1 Post by spazbecker » Sun Jun 09, 2013 6:17 am

Hello one and all,

New to the RZV world and this site and hoping someone can help with a hopefully small problem.

I've just got my RZV in the last month, mint with just 7K on the clock, full detailed service history including carbs sonically cleaned just 500 miles ago. I've used premium fuel. Been out on it a couple of times and after about 30 minutes of hard riding it feels like it drops a cylinder; lack of power, won't pull cleanly etc. Took it to my local workshop, who I trust, who changed the HT leads and plugs. Went out again today and the same symptoms appeared again after 45 minutes.

I'm not technical at all but previous bikes would suggest a coil maybe? any other direction I should look maybe? cheers :???:

rd84
- - - - -
- - - - -

Re: Newbie with a troublesome RZV

#2 Post by rd84 » Sun Jun 09, 2013 9:04 am

Blocked fuel tank breather ? (Fuel Cap) - Try taking the fuel cap off after you feel a power loss ? If there is a rush of air then there will be a breather problem.

Each coil feeds two cylinders - so if it's a coil problem you would lose more than one cylinder. Did you check for a spark on each cylinder ?

Cheers
Paul

Masterbill

#3 Post by Masterbill » Sun Jun 16, 2013 7:45 am

Hello,

Long time ago I had a similar problem, bike started fine and ran well -went for a ride 30 miles or so and it would lose power. I noticed a miss through one of the bottom cylinders and I could hear a "ping" noise as well.

Changed plugs and moved coils around etc - still the same. Bottom right exhaust when sat on bike was colder .

Changed CDI and it was cured. I would also check your CDI wiring connector - make sure that you are getting good contacts - the wiring on these bikes are old and the copperwire corrodes, goes green etc.