Australian RZ500 rescue.

Got a customizing or restoration project? Post your progress pictures and updates here

Moderator: rztom

hobbsy86

Australian RZ500 rescue.

#1 Post by hobbsy86 » Wed May 10, 2017 7:17 am

Hi all,

First time posting on this forum, and can I just say first up, damn there's a lot of good information here, for which I will be forever thankful for. I found the same thing when I was rebuilding my '81 XS1100, an active forum makes a project about 200% easier. So as a quick introduction, I'm from Sydney, Australia, and I've only just recently bought myself a new project bike that I've wanted since I started riding. It's a 1984 RZ500, but as the title and pictures below suggest, this is seems to be more of a rescue than a rebuild. It'll certainly be a labour of love...

The rest of the bike parts are in boxes just out of the picture.

From what I can tell so far, there's a few 'non-essential' bits missing such as the tank heat shield and the radiator thermo-fan, but most of the bike is there. I'll just have to track down the missing parts as I go along. Judging from the condition of the output sprocket and the mismatched fasteners all over the bike, I'd say its had a pretty hard life from its previous owner. But I've definitely seen worse!