125 TZR Athena big bore kit on RD500 (684cc)

General forum on engines, transmissions, gearing and modifications to each

Moderator: rztom

solex27

125 TZR Athena big bore kit on RD500 (684cc)

#1 Post by solex27 » Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:39 am

Hi,

I'm studying a 2nd conversion possibility (instead of 3MA cylinder conversion) by using 4 athena DTR/TZR/TDR 125 big bore kit.
The manufacture is really good, reliable.
The piston is made by Wossner (Germany) and forged.
diameter is 65mm (165cc) with Nickasil bore.
So it give's same result as Gus conversion with the original troke 50mm stroke (684cc).
I need to find all information about the barrel dimensions (holes, distance between gasket plans....)
The main problem is the price, near 400 euros, so 1600 for a 500RD !!!

http://cgi.ebay.fr/DT125R-DT-125-TZR-TD ... dZViewItem

I'm waiting your ideas about.

Franck

BroLy

#2 Post by BroLy » Sun Apr 06, 2008 7:10 am

Hi solex,

I can give you my opinion, since here in PORTUGAL the Yamaha DTR 125 was the most sold bike for over 10 years, even against the 600 and 1000 bike market.

So, the young people here wanted to tune their DTR's 125 etc to be the best on their neighbour etc, the normal things.

A few years ago, stores started to sell the ATHENA kit, but the result was a disaster.
People assembled that kit, but there were no decent pipes for it, they fit DEP/RINO/FIREBOX pipes, but the performance wasn't good.

The reason is simple, the ATHENA kit PORTMAP is equal to the stock one, the only difference is the bore from 56 to 65, so obviously, the timings and port areas are complete shit.

It's the same for the Cagiva Mito 125 POLINI 64mm kit, portmap sucks.

The only chance to have a good ATHENA is, to reshape completely the portmap of the cylinder, but then you think:

"After investing 400

gus
- - - - -
- - - - -

#3 Post by gus » Sun Apr 06, 2008 3:28 pm