where to begin... looking for advice - RZ350

General forum on engines, transmissions, gearing and modifications to each

Moderator: rztom

Backwoods

where to begin... looking for advice - RZ350

#1 Post by Backwoods » Thu Jun 22, 2017 3:51 am

I'm pretty new to all this so please forgive my ignorance. So the throttle cable snapped on my '84 RZ, It ran reasonably well prior to broken cable, but certainly not %100. Everything is stock and its the original '84 engine with 30K km. Last comp test found both sides 125 psi, put 1200km on it. I bought a replacement cable from Diablo, installed it, synced carbs, setup oil pump, now left cylinder doesn't seem to burn, exhaust is cool compared to right side with significantly less pressure and no 'pop'. Both cylinders are pretty rich, right side dried up after running for a bit, I had to pour fuel out of the left expansion chamber. I switched plug wires and installed new plugs and same condition occurred on left cylinder. There is fuel in the vacuum line off the petcock. I did a comp test :smt009
95psi right side 90psi left side. When the pipes were off I checked the power valve movement and the left side moves smoothly and opens fully the right side moves after the left and not as much in comparison. Both pistons show signs of blow by. How to procede?

I'm hoping to do a leak down test if I can finagle a kit together. Assuming the seals are good should I just rebuild the top end and carbs? I read here that sometimes the choke won't seal which can cause a rich condition on the left side, I suppose that may need replacing as well. Advice and opinions would be much appreciated.

Josh

JonW

Re: where to begin... looking for advice - RZ350

#2 Post by JonW » Thu Jun 22, 2017 4:55 am

sounds like you need to tap the left carb to get the fuel to flow... but if the pipe is full of fuel you may well need to look closer at the spark, tho with new plugs and swapped wires Im not thinking its that.