RZ/RD 350 & Misc. 2-Stroke Tech BBS

Technical Forums for Two-Stroke Nuts
It is currently Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:14 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Turn signal switch
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 8:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:35 pm
Posts: 501
Location: Kansas City, MO
I think there may be an issue with my turn signal switch on the RZ. When I push it to L or R it blinks for a second then returns to the middle. If I hold the switch in position then it continues to blink until I let go. Would this be the Switch or something else?

_________________
85 RZ350-Messed up wiring


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Turn signal switch
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 8:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 4:33 am
Posts: 9601
Location: Sydney
The switch does move back to the center, you stop it flashing by pushing the knob down. The auto cancel might be causing this to happen on yours but its simple to whip the switchblck off and clean it up and see if its improved.

_________________
My Projects:
Yamaha '85 RZ350 F1 & '83 RZ & RD Athena 421 LC & XT500 Supermoto & Honda MT250... See them all on www.2smoked.com

Like Watches? You will love www.PloProf.com & www.DeskDivers.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Turn signal switch
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 9:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:35 pm
Posts: 501
Location: Kansas City, MO
I understand that piece. What I'm saying is that in order for the light to blink I have to hold it in the L or R position. As soon as I let go it stops.

_________________
85 RZ350-Messed up wiring


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Turn signal switch
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 11:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 4:33 am
Posts: 9601
Location: Sydney
ok, what i am saying is that it could be the auto cancel thats your problem, but cleaning the switch might help keep the switch contact. Connect another switch if you want a quick test.

_________________
My Projects:
Yamaha '85 RZ350 F1 & '83 RZ & RD Athena 421 LC & XT500 Supermoto & Honda MT250... See them all on www.2smoked.com

Like Watches? You will love www.PloProf.com & www.DeskDivers.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Turn signal switch
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 10:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:41 am
Posts: 90
Location: melbourne Australia
I have had the same problem for years. Silverstrom explained that the system is controlled from inside the Speedo. To pull the speedo apart and fit is beyond my ability. I think that if one puts a time delay switch in the loom I am sure that will fix the problem. I am not good at electrical stuff, but I am sure some one can come up with the solution?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Turn signal switch
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 2:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 4:33 am
Posts: 9601
Location: Sydney
That is only part of the system Spook, thats the distance part, the other is time and its controlled from a box plugged into the loom.

_________________
My Projects:
Yamaha '85 RZ350 F1 & '83 RZ & RD Athena 421 LC & XT500 Supermoto & Honda MT250... See them all on www.2smoked.com

Like Watches? You will love www.PloProf.com & www.DeskDivers.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group